Share This Post


Recap of Week 1 of New York Baseball Academy at Hofstra

Recap of Week 1 of New York Baseball Academy at Hofstra

The New York Baseball Academy has been home to some of the top young talent in the northeast over the past 40 years.

That–combined with a coaching staff that features former professional players and some of the most recognizable and respected baseball minds–has allowed the NYBA to be named one of the top five baseball camps in the country.

To become a Black Diamond call 631-942-2542

This week just concluded Week 1 at Hofstra. The camp had nearly 180 kids between the ages of 7 and 17. They were fortunate enough to get coaching from 12-year big league veteran and Long Island native, John Habyan. After building up the St. John the Baptist program to being one of the elites on the island, he became the pitching coach of Hofstra two years ago. Another special guest was Kellenberg-grad and former big leaguer Reid Gorecki. He played for the University of Delaware and played with the Atlanta Braves in 2009.

In addition to learning a great deal, many of the players had awards bestowed upon them. More important than the skill-based awards were those who were honored for their ability to actively listen and incorporate that into the games. These individuals also gave their 100 percent effort all week and never failed to hustle. Below are the winners of the “Super Hustler” Award.

Also pictured is 9-year-old T.J. Bradford who was the recipient of the first Mr.Attitude Award, given to the Super Hustler who best exemplifies what it means to be a team player while also displaying great baseball skills.

To register for next week, click here:

Group 1

Domenic Harwell

Nicholas Nunziata

Brady Lemanczyk

Group 3

Jason Stoller

Asher Dipierro

Nick Pugliese

Eddie Kuczinski

Group 4

Marek Williams

Luke Arcella

Ryan Langner

Callum Reilly

Chris Desiderio

Aiden Collins

Matthew Bittetti

Jake Brown

Group 5

Nicholas Santasus

Jonathan Milone

Samuel Foster

Miguel Reich

Group 6

Michael Waltos

Ivan Epps

Aidan Hamel

Peter Murphy

Danny Noebel

Daniel Garabaldi

Evan Wu

Group 7

Matt Boyajian

Richie Longo

Matt Marpapodi

Zev Pyle

Group 8

Andrew Capuano

Eli Pullaro

Tyler Cohen

Jason Schwartz


Share This Post

Vinny is the Editor-In-Chief of aXcess Baseball. He is a 2013 graduate of Adelphi University. He previously worked for Bleacher Report and Baseball Info Solutions.

Lost Password